Alcohol Prohibition Areas - Scotland

Local authorities have the power to make by-laws to prohibit the drinking of alcohol in designated public places under provisions contained in the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1973 (under sections 201, 202 and 203) subject to confirmation by Scottish Ministers. To date, 27 local authorities across Scotland have by-laws which prohibit the drinking of alcohol in designated public places in more than 480 towns and villages across Scotland, together with the built up areas within the city of Glasgow and Edinburgh have such by-laws. They range from a total ban on drinking at all times, to a ban at specified times or on specified days.


Resources: 1

Last Updated: 2019-04-12

Resources: 2

Last Updated: 2022-08-22

Resources: 4

Last Updated: 2023-06-20

Resources: 2

Last Updated: 2021-06-02

Resources: 2

Last Updated: 2023-06-20

Resources: 1

Last Updated: 2020-10-12

Resources: 1

Last Updated: 2018-06-13

Resources: 1

Last Updated: 2017-03-30

Resources: 1

Last Updated: 2023-04-06

Data Provided by

Improvement Service


UK Open Government Licence (OGL)

Metadata Created


Metadata Updated





This dataset was amalgamated, optimised and published by the Spatial hub. The following quality assurance checks and corrections are carried out on the data: - Polygons are not dissolved/ aggregated by key name and local authority - The minimum polygon area allowed in the data is 100 square metres - Checks for invalid geometry types - The maximum angle for any spikes is 3 degrees - Duplicate key names for polygons are not removed - Polygons with no key names are not removed - Checks for basic geometry i.e. self-intersection Please contact for more details.



as needed