Local Authority Boundaries - Scotland

Local government in Scotland comprises 32 unitary local authorities, which are responsible for the provision of a range of public services such as education, licensing regulations, social care, transport and waste management. The current authority boundaries are largely a result of reorganization that took place in 1996, following the enactment of the Local Government etc (Scotland) Act 1994 which abolished the two tier structure of regions and districts. Boundaries Scotland is responsible for recommendations on the definition of local authority boundaries, however, the definitive dataset is delineated by Ordnance Survey for inclusion in their BoundaryLine product.


Data Provided by

Improvement Service


UK Open Government Licence (OGL)

Metadata Created


Metadata Updated





Boundaries Scotland is responsible for reviewing and making recommendations to Scottish Ministers for local authority boundaries in Scotland. Recommendations that are accepted by Ministers are enacted by statutory instrument and passed to Ordnance Survey for inclusion in their BoundaryLine product. Local Authority boundaries were originally defined according to Schedule 1 of the Local Government etc (Scotland) Act 1994. Since their formation in 1996, there have been a number of amendments following formal administrative area reviews. These are as follows: Effective 2002-06-01 (SSI 2002/155-157): • Argyll and Bute and West Dunbartonshire at Ardoch Sewage Works • Aberdeen City and Aberdeenshire at Blackburn • Glasgow City and Renfrewshire at Braehead • City of Edinburgh and West Lothian at West Farm, Broxburn Effective 2010-04-01 (SSI 2009/368, 442): • Glasgow City and North Lanarkshire at Cardowan, by Stepps • Angus and Dundee City at Fithiebank Effective 2011-04-01 (SSI 2010/353): • East Dunbartonshire and Glasgow City at Princes Gate and Greenacres, by Robroyston Effective 2018-02-02 (SSI 2017/430): • Fife and Perth and Kinross at Keltybridge and Fife Envirnonmental Energy Park, Westfield Effective 2019-04-01 (SSI 2018/308): • Glasgow City and North Lanarkshire at Cardowan by Stepps With regards to the seaward extent of a local authority, this normally ends at the low water mark. In a small number of cases, a local government area has been extended by legislation around a port or harbour into the surrounding sea beyond the low water mark. The largest of these is Yell Sound in the Shetland Islands, and there are also substantial extensions at Aberdeen and Greenock.




as needed